Resolution Success!

Resolution Success!

So I’m terrible at drinking water. I’m a child. I just don’t like it. Also, strangely enough, cold water aggravates my asthma (recently diagnosed with adult-onset; still navigating all that fun stuff). But water is SO GOOD for you and I believe in setting attainable resolutions. Eight glasses of water a day? Seems reasonable…

…if you don’t mind peeing every 20 minutes. Really. This is taking some getting used to. I bought a 32oz nalgene water bottle off Amazon (for some reason I feel the need to justify my Prime membership by ordering something at least once a week. Is that weird?) It was around $12 but they also have other sizes for less. I prefer the wide-mouth style because I can put ice in it (if I feel like challenging my asthma to a duel) and it’s easier to fill IMO. I drink two of these a day.

The best thing ever, though is a trick I found on Pinterest. If you write an hourly schedule right on your water bottle, you can more easily pace yourself throughout the day. I keep it on my desk at work and I actually really enjoy keeping up with the schedule. You end up only drinking a few ounces an hour and depending on what time you start, you’ll be finished by 9:00pm. Hopefully you won’t have to get up to pee during the night (because seriously, nothing pisses me off more than waking up to piss). I’ve seen some people who write an AM schedule on one bottle and a PM bottle on a second bottle – that’s dumb. Put it on the same bottle and just fill it up twice.

Verdict: Success! This seems so elementary, but I promise it has made all the difference in achieving my goal. Maybe it’s purely psychosomatic, but after only a week (bite me, I started my resolutions late this year) I swear I feel better.

Leave a Reply

